19
Nov
15

Okay, so THIS happened….

See the picture below?  Yeah, that’s my latest book cover (drool).  I’ve been posting it all over Facebook, which is what authors typically do to help with promotion.  Now FB has this service called “Boosting” in which they will promote, or BOOST, your posts.  They have VERY strict rules about what can and can’t be posted (no nudity, no text that exceeds 20% of the image, no profanity, etc.), and I’ve had to re-do all my book teasers to accommodate their Puritanical standards.  I figured, wrongly, that the cover of Her Sister’s Keeper would pass: not a lot of text, no “nudity” (because a bare male chest doesn’t qualify as nudity in my world), and no profanity.  This is the response I received from FB after they refused to boost my book cover (emphasis mine):

“Your ad wasn’t approved because it doesn’t follow our Advertising Policies, which apply to an ad’s content, its audience and the destination it links to. We don’t allow ads that reference body images in a way that may make some viewers upset. Ads referring to someone’s health or appearance are sensitive in nature and using images of drastic weight loss typically evokes a negative reaction from viewers.
How to fix: Use an image that focuses clearly on your product or service.”

Oddly, they’re not upset about the “nudity” they’re upset about the “drastic weight loss” depicted in this photo.  And, I can post this all over FB for FREE, but if I want to PAY them to boost it, it suddenly violates their “standards.”

Rolling my eyes so hard I just saw my brain….

Her Sister’s Keeper

Her Sister's Keeper Lulu 2015 a.indd

0 Responses to “Okay, so THIS happened….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

